Jean-Baptiste Duperray

Franck Besson in Juliénas

Chiroubles from Château de Javernand

Côte de Brouilly & Brouilly from Robert Perroud

Fleurie from Yohan Lardy

Juliénas & Chénas Pascal Aufranc

Régnié & Morgon from Jean-Michel Dupré

Saint-Amour from Patrick Tranchand

Map of Beaujolais wine region


More about Beaujolais...

Located north of Lyon in eastern France, Beaujolais overlaps Burgundy in the north and Rhône in the south. The picturesque Beaujolais vineyards run along the Saône River, where winemakers have crafted deliciously supple and fruity wines since the days of Ancient Rome.

There are 12 different Beaujolais appellations, 10 of which are known as Crus. Over mainly granite terrain, the Beaujolais Crus form a meandering path. From south to north, Brouilly is followed by Côte de Brouilly, Régnié, Morgon, Chiroubles, Fleurie, Moulin-à-Vent, Chénas, Juliénas and Saint-Amour.

The region has ideal growing conditions. It receives lots of sunshine and has granite-based soils that lend excellent structure to the wines. The Gamay grape is used to make all Beaujolais wines with the exception of white Beaujolais, or Beaujolais blanc, which is made of Chardonnay grapes.

More about Gamay...

Gamay Noir à Jus Blanc is a very old variety that exists since the 1300s in Burgundy. It is a crossing between Pinot Noir and an ancient grape, parent to most of the Vitis Vinifera, calles Gouais Blanc. Because of its relationship with Pinot Noir, Gamay has many similarities, including flavor profile and ability to age. I like to call it a "Joyfull version" of Pinot since it usually differenciate itself from his cousin by a brigther acidity and more easygoing attitude. 

Producers in Beaujolais used a winemaking technique called "Carbonic maceration" to retain Gamay's floral and gentle fruity notes.